THE STORYBOARD CALLED LIFE

Unlucky 13

leave a comment »

So it wasn’t just an odd numbered year, but the year of 13 where Friday 13th happened twice.  I think the only unlucky thing that happened to me was that I lost my phone on the plane on the way to New Zealand… And then again 2 months later. But other than that, it was a pretty great year! It can never really be all ups, but I feel I was up more than down and that’s always a good thing.

Thirteen of my favourite things to happen in 2013

  1. Anthony Minichiello was named Captain for the Roosters. *so many squeals *so many tears.
  2. Watching NRL Grand Final (Roosters v Sea Eagles) live with Dianne and watching the boys become 2013 PREMIERS!:’)
  3. Mission – MV retreat in Adelaide, HSB retreats in Melbourne, serving in IKV and Darwin in July for OYC, which btw was my favourite conference ever.
  4. World Youth Day in July. Being able to travel to Argentina, Peru and somewhere I’ve always wanted to travel – BRAZIL
  5. Leading amazing CLP for Singles For Christ
  6. SNOWBOARDING in Snow Planet in Auckland. I’m excited to try it on real snow one day!
  7. Fewer gigs this year: Blink 182, The Script, Gym Class Heroes, New Empire, Joe Zambon (at Qwayne’s house!) but each was a great night! But at each gig, they played almost all the songs I wanted them to play. So I died.
  8. Watching the Lion King! I already died in the first 5 minutes.
  9. YFC reunion with one of my old households and seeing our old mate Kristone, now Br Tarsicius
  10. Sunset Cinemas – one of my favourite nights and being overwhelmed with all the love and support that I have been receiving in preparation for next year.
  11. Saturday nights at my house with wine and conspiracy theories
  12. Playing cards and signs with my family
  13. Getting the call that I was accepted into NET for 2014!

 

Thirteen favourite songs of 2013

  1. Big Mountain – Baby, I Love Your Way
  2. Jet – Look What You’ve Done
  3. The Cardigans – Lovefool
  4. Bob Dylan – Tangled Up in Blue
  5. Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes – That’s What’s Up
  6. Hellogoodbye – Getting Old
  7. Joe Zambon – The Giver
  8. Gym Class Heroes – Taxi Driver
  9. John Mayer ft Katy Perry – Who You Love
  10. Kodaline – All I Want
  11. Matt Corby – Untitled
  12. Ed Sheeran – Kiss Me
  13. Magic! – Rude

 

Thirteen things I learned in 2013

  1. God knows my heart better than I do
  2. It is better to be loving than to be right
  3. When you sin and are so ashamed that you hide from God, that sin has conquered you twice
  4. Some (most) of the time, the things God has planned for you are better than what you’re praying for
  5. When you fight, take a breath and calm down before you open your mouth
  6. “The devil cannot mimic peace”
  7. The intercession of Our Lady is real and powerful
  8. Don’t leave your phone in a pocket that it will easily fall out of
  9. If I waited until I stopped sinning, I would be waiting my whole life.
  10. Sometimes you shouldn’t have another glass of wine
  11. God speaks to us in timing and opportunities.
  12. God has never led me anywhere without preparing the way for me first.
  13. “Our flaws are part of His plan to bring forth holiness in us… By responding to His call with courage and faith, we can become saints”

 

I’m really grateful for so many blessings for me and my family this year. I’m excited for what God has in store for the next!

Happy New Years, everyone xx

Written by Candice

December 31, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

