THE STORYBOARD CALLED LIFE

Spring Cleaning

with 2 comments

I know it’s still the middle of August, but this weekend I started on my spring cleaning. I have the smallest closet in the world and not even that many clothes #firstworldproblem  I’d like to think that I no longer qualify to be on the next episode of Hoarders but still every year I let go of more clothes and stuff that I held on to last year. Last year (or last time I really cleaned my room) I didn’t want to part with stuff just in case like shirts that I thought I might still wear or letters, written early high school or primary school, which said nothing of importance, invitations from parties that I attended years ago, random $2 trinkets… As time goes on, I’m more able to let them go. I hope this means that I’m wiser and know what’s important and not that my heart is now made of coal and I have no sentimentality at all. Granted, I still have a box full of letters, which were either really meaningful, embarrassing and / or funny.

As the days grow longer and warmer, let’s also let go of all the other junk and clutter we have accumulated. Let’s keep the lessons on post-its notes next to our bed and the good memories in boxes on the top shelf of our closets, but leave the awkward conversations, regrets, sorrow out on the side of the road for the dump truck to throw away. Let’s leave the space they left empty for more good times, heart breaks (lol), memories and lessons.

Even if you’re not ready to let your stuff go, time really does have a funny way of healing things. Maybe spring 2013 will be your time 😉

– love the girl with the cleanest, smallest closet x

Written by Candice

August 19, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Posted in Contemplate.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cleaned my closet months ago and still have the garbage bag full of clothes in my room. -_-

    Joan

    August 19, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  2. lol i totes know what you mean. i still have a few things in my room from last spring 🙂

    Candice

    August 21, 2012 at 11:25 am


Leave a Reply

