THE STORYBOARD CALLED LIFE

Modesty

with 8 comments

… So. Life. It’s pretty crazy huh?

Haha… excuse my awkwardness; it’s heightened by how long it’s been since my last proper blog so I’m rusty.

But! If you stick around, I think I have something to offer – thoughts, ideas that have been nagging me to be explored, pondered, and recorded. I was prodded even further today when reading this post from an amazing photographer.

They weren’t meant for my eyes and I wish it would have stayed that way…

– Matt Burke

It’s mind-blowing that a guy on the opposite side of the world, who lives a completely different life, who has a different personality, values, and experiences can have a similar idea. And has the power to push me, a girl whose path he’s never crossed, to act.

Six degrees of separation has been dramatically diminished with the Internet. It amazes me that I get an insight into the life and sometimes innermost thoughts of people I wouldn’t have the opportunity to even have a conversation with, like Matt Burke. This has engendered a culture of celebrity. Everybody wants to be tumblr famous or twitter famous or youtube famous. Which is cool! I see the merit in it e.g. sharing talent or photos, being discovered by Usher’s manager or getting so many hits that youtube will pay you to make and upload videos.

In this culture of celebrity, there’s something else diminishing – privacy. It’s not a new idea – celebrities, well at least some of them, are incessantly complaining about their lack of privacy. But others just flaunt everything and put it up for show. The Kardashian’s are notorious for this, even if some things are embellished or glamourized. The family have allowed the public to see one of them giving birth and for another, the breakdown of a marriage. Both of which are very private affairs. And even sex tapes, which is something that’s meant to be beautiful and intimate for the pleasure and privacy of two people sharing love, available for all the world to see.

Nothing’s sacred.

While celebrities gain ridiculous amounts of money for this, what is lost? Privacy? Their soul? Lol. Modesty?

Usually when the word modesty is used, people think of a certain way of dressing, covering up, not showing too much skin. But I think modesty is more than how you look. It’s also how you conduct yourself, what you share.

It’s defined nicely here .

Modesty is having self-respect. When you value yourself with quiet pride, you accept praise with humility and gratitude. Modesty is being comfortable with yourself and setting healthy boundaries about your body and your privacy.

I really like my privacy, she says as she types a blog about the lack of privacy on a blog that’s public domain and also having twitter and facebook open in the same browser. I know I’m not immune to this culture, some parts of it I love – like seeing tweets from my favourite celebrities, sharing photos with friends etc. I’m all for sharing yourself and ideas (fine and even feelings ew lol). But I strongly believe that there are some things that only certain people need to know about me. And some things that I will share with only few select group of people, special people or person.

Not everyone has to know everything about everyone every second of every day.

Even Jesus, who is the most famous person in history, did this. His life has been shared with an incalculable amount of people and He preached to thousands. He still chose a select group of 12 share certain things with and of those 3 that He was more intimate with.

I’m very blessed to have family and friends and a community of Couples for Christ that I choose to spend and share my life. I know that not everyone feels as blessed as I do, just judging from the cries for attention and worrying posts on the Internet. There are some people in life, real, face-to-face life that can help. This post isn’t intended to stifle expression and communication, but encourage it to be shared to the right people.

I don’t really want to end on a downer, so I wanted to share this quote, that I think it beautiful.

Modesty in a woman is the sign that Jesus Christ dwells in her heart.  It is a sweet perfume of edification, which she is called upon to diffuse.

– From the Fatima Crusader

There’s still so much I have to say and explore and share on this topic alone, but it’s 2am! So for now, thanks for reading.

x CP

Written by Candice

March 17, 2012 at 12:53 am

Posted in Contemplate.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. beautifully written 🙂

    aqwaynetance

    March 17, 2012 at 2:04 am

  2. i really like this

    Anonymous

    March 19, 2012 at 11:55 pm

  3. dude

    Anonymous

    March 19, 2012 at 11:56 pm

  4. :)) candice, too good

    Anonymous

    March 19, 2012 at 11:59 pm

  5. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

    Anonymous

    March 20, 2012 at 12:00 am

  6. this was spot on

    Anonymous

    March 20, 2012 at 12:00 am

  7. […] If boundaries are not built and the land is Terra Nullius,  will anything remain special? This goes beyond just anything physical. Secrets, rituals, special places will lose their specialness lol because it has already been done. This post feels a bit familiar.  […]

  8. […] not sure why I enjoy writing about this topic, I should really be writing more posts directed to women, but maybe because I see the effect that men have on […]


Leave a Reply

