THE STORYBOARD CALLED LIFE

Palm Reader

with 2 comments

We often seek predictions for the future through divination, tarot, horoscopes etc. While I don’t actively seek any of these, I must admit that when I stumble across the horoscope page on Mx, I do have a read. Also when I used to work in retail, an exotic looking man held out a shabby business card and asked if I wanted to get my palm read. He saw the hesitation in my eyes and took my hand and started reading it. What he said sorta applied to my life, so for a second I started to believe him. But when I told him I wasn’t going to pay him, he immediately dropped my hand and walked out of the shop lol.

It got me thinking why humans are so into all this. Why do we need some crazy-haired lady looking into a crystal ball for us to feel at ease with the future? (Yes, I’m aware that I’m generalising).

We should all be concerned about the future because we will have to spend the rest of our lives there. 

~Charles F. Kettering

I think we’re all in search of reassurance that our lives are meaningful. Assurance that we’ve taken the right path. Or guidance in which fork in the road we should take. Or relief from stress about what the future holds. I think that’s human nature – we crave guidance and direction. Although these places might be the wrong places to search, they are a tangible and almost-instant source of both of these. Because of this, we interpret everything these sources say and cater it to apply to our lives because we want to believe e.g. me; instead of laughing off what the palm reader told me, I took it semi-seriously.

I think it’s a sign of the lack of spirituality in society. We turn to earthly things such as cards, teabags, crystal balls instead of turning to the higher power for guidance. I think it also makes apparent the carnal need of this advanced society for instant gratification. In a world thats pace is growing ever quicker, we are less willing to delay the answers to our questions.  

At the core of this is the human need to be certain. The future is the biggest uncertainty. Let’s not dwell too much on the future, nor the past and live for today.

Now is the accepted time, not tomorrow, not some more convenient season. It is today that our best work can be done and not some future day or future year. It is today that we fit ourselves for the greater usefulness of tomorrow. Today is the seed time, now are the hours of work, and tomorrow comes the harvest and the playtime.

~ W.E.B. Du Bois

 

Written by Candice

December 2, 2008 at 9:36 am

Posted in Contemplate.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yeah, i agree with this

    blackerious

    December 3, 2008 at 8:08 pm

  2. When Saul saw the Philistine army, he was afraid; terror filled his heart. He inquired of the LORD, but the LORD did not answer him by dreams or Urim or prophets. Saul then said to his attendants, “Find me a woman who is a medium, so I may go and inquire of her.” “There is one in Endor,” they said. – 1 Samuel 28:5-7

    In this account, Saul goes to a medium (something like a psychic or tarot card reader today) to get the answers he was looking for. This was expressly forbidden in the laws of God and Saul knew it, but he was looking for comfort more than he was willing to wait on God. This pattern of Saul’s life eventually led to his undoing and becomes a warning for us: It is better to be insecure in the silence of God than to try to fill the void with outside voices. Wait upon the Lord, yes, wait upon the Lord.

    Today’s commentary by:
    Dave Whitehead

    Candice

    February 28, 2011 at 10:49 am


Leave a Reply

