THE STORYBOARD CALLED LIFE

No Such Thing

with one comment

“Welcome to the real world,” she said to me, condescendingly.

I get so frustrated when people older than me say, “Welcome to the real world.” It’s so patronising and I know they’re not implying that I’ve been living in a “fake” world, but my mind’s reply is, “Oh I’m sorry for the past 20 years I’ve lived in my counterfeit world, studying in my fake Uni, working at my fake job etc etc..” That’s just me and my immaturity.

I understand that we don’t have the same responsibilities that you do. But just because we don’t have a mortgage or kids or whatever other essential ingredient that is needed to cook something that you can deem real, doesn’t give you the right to belittle me. That probably wasn’t the intention of the older person that said that to me today, but that’s what it feels like!

The makeup of everyone’s reality is so different and because of that I don’t think age is always the best measure of experience and wisdom. Michael Jackson experienced more in his first 10 years than I have in my whole 20. (Reading his bio haha it’s good)

So kids, don’t let anyone look down on you because you’re young. Show them what you got!

Do not let anyone look down on you because you are young, but be an example for other believers in your speech, behavior, love, faithfulness, and purity.

– 1 Timothy 4:12

Written by Candice

November 20, 2008 at 11:35 am

Posted in Think.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHA the next day after this blogs publishing

    “welcome to the real world ate” tits

    HAHAHAHA funniest moment EVER

    LOVE YOU

    Anonymous

    November 26, 2008 at 7:59 pm


Leave a Reply

